Safe Travel in Local Streets - Metropolitan Melbourne

We’re helping metropolitan councils across Melbourne improve safety with the $26 million Safe Travel in Local Streets Program (Metro STiLS).

About the program

The Safe Travel in Local Streets program is the Victorian Government’s commitment to improve safety on local roads across metropolitan Melbourne, by awarding project grants to local councils.

The program was created to support councils to upgrade safety in metropolitan communities in Melbourne and improve local amenities by transforming roads that are high-risk or have a high-crash history.

Safe Travel in Local Streets projects may include these road safety upgrades:

  • bicycle lanes and facilities
  • street narrowing
  • speed cushions and road humps
  • raised pavements and safety platforms
  • wombat crossings
  • new small roundabouts 
  • modifications to existing roundabouts
  • pinch points or partial street closures
  • turn bans
  • speed limit reviews
  • safer pedestrian crossings
  • traffic studies

Nearly 80% of council-delivered projects across metropolitan Melbourne funded under this program, have been completed so far. All projects are anticipated to be completed by December 2021.

Why we’re doing this

The Victorian Government, in partnership with TAC, is investing $1.4 billion into road safety infrastructure to reduce road trauma and save lives.

Improving safety for all road-user groups in communities across metropolitan Melbourne, is the core objective of the Safe Travel in Local Streets program.

The Safe Travel in Local Streets program supports projects that;

  • enhance pedestrian and road user experience
  • reduce safety risks
  • implement road safety infrastructure
  • improve amenities for residents and businesses. 

Projects in your area

Councils in Melbourne’s Metro-North West participating in this program are:

  • Banyule City Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • City of Darebin 
  • Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • City of Melbourne 
  • City of Moonee Valley
  • Moreland City Council 
  • Nillumbik Shire Council 
  • Wyndham City Council
  • City of Yarra

Councils in Melbourne’s Metro-South East participating in this program are:

  • Bayside City Council
  • City of Boroondara
  • City of Casey
  • Frankston City Council
  • Glen Eira City Council
  • City of Greater Dandenong
  • City of Kingston
  • Knox City Council
  • Maroondah City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire
  • City of Port Phillip
  • Whitehorse City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Shire Council

For more information

Visit our Safer Roads interactive map or contact participating councils to find out more about Safe Travel in Local Streets projects underway your the local area.
Alternatively, get in touch with us via email at [email protected]

Was this page helpful?


Please tell us why (but don't leave your personal details here - message us if you need help or have questions).