Standard Grants Program

The Standard Grants Program provides funding for local road safety initiatives that can be delivered within a community to help Victoria on its journey Towards Zero

Towards Zero is what the road experts call a ‘Safe System’ approach. 

It invests in safety at the most dangerous areas in the road network; supports people who are much more vulnerable to become casualties on certain roads, at certain speeds at certain times of the day; and builds in second chances for when we inevitability slip up. 

Towards Zero accepts that people will make mistakes but no-one should die because of them. 

We know localised community action is pivotal in reducing the number of lives lost and serious injuries on Victoria’s roads. 

The VicRoads Community Road Safety Grants program has been developed to assist communities to prevent and reduce these harms. 

In 2018/19, VicRoads provides $1.5 million across community groups to fund programs for:

  • safer cyclists
  • safer pedestrians
  • safer drivers and passengers, and
  • safer motorcyclists.

View Standard Grants Program funding outcomes

How to apply

Applications for 2018/2019 are now closed.

Read our program guidelines for more information on the application and selection process. 

If you are thinking of applying for a grant, here are some helpful tips to assist with your application


If you would like to discuss your application, contact your local Community Road Safety Coordinator.

Contact us

For further information, please get in touch.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (03) 9935 4111

Was this page helpful?

Take a moment to tell us why. If you'd like a response to your feedback, please message us instead.