Convert your overseas licence

If you're visiting Victoria for less than six months you can drive on your overseas driver licence provided it is valid and current.

If you've been living or will be living in Victoria for six months or more you'll need to convert your overseas licence or permit to a Victorian licence.

Complete the form to find out which Victorian licence you can get.

Name Code (lower alphabet and dashes only) Recognition (FULL, EXP, NZ, HK or NON)
New Zealand new-zealand NZ
Hong Kong hong-kong EXP
Afghanistan afghanistan NON
Aland Islands aland-islands NON
Albania albania NON
Algeria algeria NON
American Samoa american-samoa NON
Andorra andorra NON
Angola angola NON
Anguilla anguilla NON
Antarctica antarctica NON
Antigua and Barbuda antigua-and-barbuda NON
Argentina argentina NON
Armenia armenia NON
Aruba aruba NON
Austria austria FULL
Azerbaijan azerbaijan NON
Bahamas bahamas NON
Bahrain bahrain NON
Bangladesh bangladesh NON
Barbados barbados NON
Belarus belarus NON
Belgium belgium FULL
Belize belize NON
Benin benin NON
Bermuda bermuda NON
Bhutan bhutan NON
Bolivia bolivia NON
Bonaire bonaire NON
Bosnia and Herzegovina bosnia-and-herzegovina FULL
Botswana botswana NON
Bouvet Island bouvet-island NON
Brazil brazil NON
British Indian Ocean Territory british-indian-ocean-territory NON
Brunei Darussalam brunei-darussalam NON
Bulgaria bulgaria EXP
Burkina Faso burkina-faso NON
Burundi burundi NON
Cambodia cambodia NON
Cameroon cameroon NON
Canada canada FULL
Cape Verde cape-verde NON
Cayman Islands cayman-islands NON
Central African Republic central-african-republic NON
Chad chad NON
Chile chile NON
China china NON
Christmas Island christmas-island NON
Cocos (Keeling) Islands cocos-keeling-islands NON
Colombia colombia NON
Comoros comoros NON
Congo congo NON
Cook Islands cook-islands NON
Costa Rica costa-rica NON
Cote Divoire cote-divoire NON
Croatia croatia FULL
Cuba cuba NON
Curaçao curaçao NON
Cyprus cyprus EXP
Czech Republic czech-republic EXP
Democratic People's Republic of Korea korea-north NON
Denmark denmark FULL
Djibouti djibouti NON
Dominica dominica NON
Dominican Republic dominican-republic NON
Ecuador ecuador NON
Egypt egypt NON
El Salvador el-salvador NON
Equatorial Guinea equatorial-guinea NON
Eritrea eritrea NON
Estonia estonia EXP
Ethiopia ethiopia NON
Falkland Islands (Malvinas) falkland-islands-malvinas NON
Faroe Islands faroe-islands NON
Fiji fiji NON
Finland finland FULL
France france FULL
French Guiana french-guiana NON
French Polynesia french-polynesia NON
French Southern Territories french-southern-territories NON
Gabon gabon NON
Gambia gambia NON
Georgia georgia NON
Germany germany FULL
Ghana ghana NON
Gibraltar gibraltar NON
Greece greece FULL
Greenland greenland NON
Grenada grenada NON
Guadeloupe guadeloupe NON
Guam guam NON
Guatemala guatemala NON
Guernsey guernsey FULL
Guinea guinea NON
Guinea-Bissau guinea-bissau NON
Guyana guyana NON
Haiti haiti NON
Heard and McDonald Islands heard-and-mcdonald-islands NON
Holy See holy-see NON
Honduras honduras NON
Hungary hungary EXP
Iceland iceland NON
India india NON
Indonesia indonesia NON
Iran iran NON
Iraq iraq NON
Ireland ireland FULL
Isle of Man isle-of-man FULL
Israel israel NON
Italy italy FULL
Jamaica jamaica NON
Japan japan FULL
Jersey jersey FULL
Jordan jordan NON
Kazakhstan kazakhstan NON
Kenya kenya NON
Kiribati kiribati NON
Kuwait kuwait NON
Kyrgyzstan kyrgyzstan NON
Lao Peoples Democratic Republic lao-peoples-democratic-republic NON
Latvia latvia EXP
Lebanon lebanon NON
Lesotho lesotho NON
Liberia liberia NON
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya libyan-arab-jamahiriya NON
Liechtenstein liechtenstein NON
Lithuania lithuania EXP
Luxembourg luxembourg FULL
Macao macao NON
Macedonia macedonia NON
Madagascar madagascar NON
Malawi malawi NON
Malaysia malaysia NON
Maldives maldives NON
Mali mali NON
Malta malta FULL
Marshall Islands marshall-islands NON
Martinique martinique NON
Mauritania mauritania NON
Mauritius mauritius NON
Mayotte mayotte NON
Mexico mexico NON
Micronesia micronesia NON
Moldova moldova NON
Monaco monaco NON
Mongolia mongolia NON
Montenegro montenegro NON
Montserrat montserrat NON
Morocco morocco NON
Mozambique mozambique NON
Myanmar myanmar NON
Namibia namibia NON
Nauru nauru NON
Nepal nepal NON
Netherlands netherlands FULL
New Caledonia new-caledonia NON
Nicaragua nicaragua NON
Niger niger NON
Nigeria nigeria NON
Niue niue NON
Norfolk Island norfolk-island NON
Northern Mariana Islands northern-mariana-islands NON
Norway norway FULL
Oman oman NON
Pakistan pakistan NON
Palau palau NON
Palestinian palestinian NON
Panama panama NON
Papua New Guinea papua-new-guinea NON
Paraguay paraguay NON
Peru peru NON
Philippines philippines NON
Pitcairn pitcairn NON
Poland poland EXP
Portugal portugal FULL
Puerto Rico puerto-rico NON
Qatar qatar NON
Republic of Korea korea-south EXP
Reunion réunion NON
Romania romania EXP
Russian Federation russian-federation NON
Rwanda rwanda NON
Saint Barthélemy saint-barthélemy NON
Saint Helena saint-helena NON
Saint Kitts and Nevis saint-kitts-and-nevis NON
Saint Lucia saint-lucia NON
Saint Martin (French Part) saint-martin-french-part NON
Saint Pierre and Miquelon saint-pierre-and-miquelon NON
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines saint-vincent-and-the-grenadines NON
Samoa samoa NON
San Marino san-marino NON
Sao Tome and Principe sao-tome-and-principe NON
Saudi Arabia saudi-arabia NON
Senegal senegal NON
Serbia serbia EXP
Seychelles seychelles NON
Sierra Leone sierra-leone NON
Singapore singapore FULL
Sint Maarten (Dutch Part) sint-maarten-dutch-part NON
Slovakia slovakia EXP
Slovenia slovenia EXP
Solomon Islands solomon-islands NON
Somalia somalia NON
South Africa south-africa EXP
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands south-georgia-and-the-south-sandwich-islands NON
Spain spain FULL
Sri Lanka sri-lanka NON
Sudan sudan NON
Suriname suriname NON
Svalbard and Jan Mayen svalbard-and-jan-mayen NON
Swaziland swaziland NON
Sweden sweden FULL
Switzerland switzerland FULL
Syrian Arab Republic syrian-arab-republic NON
Taiwan taiwan EXP
Tajikistan tajikistan NON
Tanzania, United Republic of tanzania-united-republic-of NON
Thailand thailand NON
Timor-Leste timor-leste NON
Togo togo NON
Tokelau tokelau NON
Tonga tonga NON
Trinidad and Tobago trinidad-and-tobago NON
Tunisia tunisia NON
Turkey turkey NON
Turkmenistan turkmenistan NON
Turks and Caicos Islands turks-and-caicos-islands NON
Tuvalu tuvalu NON
Uganda uganda NON
Ukraine ukraine NON
United Arab Emirates united-arab-emirates NON
United Kingdom united-kingdom FULL
United States united-states FULL
United States Minor Outlying Islands united-states-minor-outlying-islands NON
Uruguay uruguay NON
Uzbekistan uzbekistan NON
Vanuatu vanuatu NON
Venezuela venezuela NON
Viet Nam viet-nam NON
Virgin Islands, British virgin-islands-british NON
Virgin Islands, U.S. virgin-islands-u.s. NON
Wallis and Futuna wallis-and-futuna NON
Western Sahara western-sahara NON
Yemen yemen NON
Zambia zambia NON
Zimbabwe zimbabwe NON
This form is intended as a guide only. Make sure you enter your details correctly so you are given the right information to convert your overseas licence.

* Indicates a required field

Which country was your licence issued? * Required field




Was this page helpful?


Please tell us why (but don't leave your personal details here - message us if you need help or have questions).